Peptide Field Book

Reading settings

Choose a comfortable text size and appearance. Your choices are saved on this device.

Ipamorelin

Taken to boost growth hormone

Ghrelin-receptor agonist (GHRP)

Match every finding to its exact substance, formulation, route and study population. A related molecule or approved medicine does not validate a catalog vial.

Human / product-specific records · Animal / laboratory evidence · Unresolved sources
AibH2NalfKNH₂AibH2NalfKNH₂
Schematic illustration · View structure evidenceAib-H-2Nal-f-K-NH₂
Color key
NonpolarAromaticPositive chargeNegative chargePolar Copper ion D-form or non-natural

At a glance

Why people take it. And what backs it up.

  1. Boost growth hormone

    Early human studies

    Men’s-health and anti-aging clinics prescribe nightly shots, often with CJC-1295, to raise growth hormone that falls with age.

    Sources (5)
  2. Build muscle, burn fat

    People report it, not studied

    Lifters and clinics use it for leaner muscle and less fat, as a milder alternative to growth hormone shots.

    Sources (3)
  3. Sleep deeper, recover faster

    People report it, not studied

    Taken before bed for deeper sleep and faster recovery from training, often stacked with CJC-1295.

    Sources (3)

Evidence briefing

Sources checked

What the sources support.

Ipamorelin is investigational, not FDA-approved. A phase 2 postoperative-ileus trial used IV infusions and did not significantly improve its primary time-to-meal outcome; it does not support marketed muscle, fat-loss or anti-aging claims.

Keep in mind

The phase 2 study was postoperative and intravenous; it does not establish benefit for other uses or routes.

Identity and research status reviewRead the original sources

The research. What’s been studied.

TapClick a dotted word to see what it means.

  • Early human studies

    Growth hormone release

    Human studies confirmed it raises GH in a dose-dependent pulse.

  • Early human studies

    Clean, selective effect

    Barely raises cortisol or prolactin, unlike older growth-hormone-releasing peptides.

  • Early human studies

    Less hunger

    Causes less appetite increase than other mimics.

  • Unverified

    Recovery, sleep and body composition

    Commonly claimed benefits of higher GH; no trials have tested them.

What do these labels mean?
  • Human evidence: approved-drug data or larger human studies, within the populations and uses studied.
  • Early human studies: small, preliminary or limited human studies.
  • Animal & lab studies: animal or laboratory findings that do not establish effects in people.
  • Unverified: a proposed use or claim without verified supporting clinical evidence.
How each claim was reviewed (4)

Reported effects and evidence.

A citation may support, qualify or correct a claim. Read the study scope; a laboratory result is not an established benefit in people. Each review covers a claim as it was first collected; the tiles above show the collection’s current wording.

  1. Human pharmacokinetic/pharmacodynamic study

    Review of “Growth hormone release”

    A human volunteer study found dose-related stimulation of GH release.

    Limitations and applicability. GH release is an endocrine endpoint, not proof of improved recovery, sleep or body composition.

    Original collected claim and review history

    Original title: Growth hormone release

    Human studies confirmed it raises GH in a dose-dependent pulse.

    Original label: early. Preserved for traceability; the reviewed wording above qualifies this record.

    Record ipamorelin:benefit:1 · Annotated 2026-10-01 · Review method

  2. Preclinical endocrine selectivity

    Review of “Clean, selective effect”

    Preclinical experiments found selective GH release with limited ACTH/cortisol response under the tested conditions.

    Limitations and applicability. Key selectivity experiments were in swine and rat preparations; “clean” implies unproven overall safety.

    Original collected claim and review history

    Original title: Clean, selective effect

    Barely raises cortisol or prolactin, unlike older growth-hormone-releasing peptides.

    Original label: early. Preserved for traceability; the reviewed wording above qualifies this record.

    Record ipamorelin:benefit:2 · Annotated 2026-10-01 · Review method

  3. Unknown — no direct primary source verified. Comparative appetite claim unresolved

    Review of “Less hunger”

    Lower hunger than other ghrelin mimics is a reported claim with no direct supporting human comparison verified here.

    Limitations and applicability. No direct human comparison of hunger with other ghrelin mimics was verified.

    Unknown: no direct primary source verified. This does not mean that no research exists.

    Original collected claim and review history

    Original title: Less hunger

    Causes less appetite increase than other ghrelin mimics.

    Original label: early. Preserved for traceability; the reviewed wording above qualifies this record.

    Record ipamorelin:benefit:3 · Annotated 2026-10-01 · Review method

  4. Unknown — no direct primary source verified. Explicitly unverified reported benefits

    Review of “Recovery, sleep and body composition”

    Recovery, sleep and body-composition effects remain reported claims without a verified direct clinical outcome trial.

    Limitations and applicability. Keep as attributed claims. A pharmacodynamic GH study cannot support clinical recovery/sleep/body-composition outcomes.

    Unknown: no direct primary source verified. This does not mean that no research exists.

    Original collected claim and review history

    Original title: Recovery, sleep and body composition

    Commonly claimed benefits of higher GH; no trials have tested them.

    Original label: claimed. Preserved for traceability; the reviewed wording above qualifies this record.

    Record ipamorelin:benefit:4 · Annotated 2026-10-01 · Review method

The research in detail

Evidence category

Human trials, not approved

A postoperative-ileus trial used intravenous ipamorelin after bowel surgery. It did not significantly improve the primary time-to-first-tolerated-meal outcome. No trials for muscle gain, fat loss or anti-aging were identified.

Evidence is assessed claim by claim above. Regulatory approval, study design, findings and relevance are separate questions; there is no single evidence score.

Risks and unknowns. What to know first.

Collected cautions follow. These are not an exhaustive or independently validated safety assessment; claim references do not automatically support every caution.

  • Headache, flushing and water retention; blood sugar can rise with ongoing use.
  • Same long-term GH/ concerns as other secretagogues.

What people report

Show all 5 cautionsShow fewer cautions

Read this first: what “research use only” means

Published dosing records. What the trials used.

Historical label and trial records for the named product, route, population and indication. These records are not a personal schedule or a validated regimen for a catalog vial. Source attribution does not establish applicability.

Phase 2 trial

Phase 2 trial in adults in hospital after bowel surgery (International Journal of Colorectal Disease, 2014)

Given by a clinicianClinical trial

Source: Beck et al., International Journal of Colorectal Disease, 2014 (opens in a new tab)

Days 1–7 after surgery
0.03 mg/kg
How
Into a vein (drip)
How often
Twice a day
How long
From day 1 after surgery for up to 7 days, or until leaving hospital
  • This was given by drip in hospital. No dose for injection under the skin has been established.
  • The authors called it well tolerated, but 2 people given ipamorelin died after surgical complications (the FDA says it is unclear whether the drug played a part), and recovery was not significantly faster than with placebo.
  • An earlier study in healthy men gave single 15-minute drips of 4.21 to 140.45 nmol per kg to measure growth hormone release.

These doses were tested in clinical trials under medical supervision. They aren’t approved for use, and a research vial is not the product that was tested.

Community protocols. Reported online. Not clinically validated.

Community reports Collection date: 30 Sep 2026

Ipamorelin, a growth-hormone-releasing peptide (GHRP), is most often injected at 100–300 mcg per shot, usually paired with CJC-1295 (no DAC), once to three times a day, with a bedtime dose on an empty stomach the most common.

More about this

Clinics prescribe 250–500 mcg nightly for months, and some bodybuilders use 500–1,000 mcg up to three times a day.

Not testedFrequently encountered in reviewed sources

With CJC-1295 (no DAC), 1–3 times a day

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
100–300 mcg per shot (forum “saturation dose” 100 mcg)
How often
Once to three times a day
Route
Injection under the skin
Timing
Before bed on an empty stomach; extra shots on waking or after training
How long
About 12 weeks is common; many run it for months
Cycle
Some skip weekends (5 days on, 2 off)
Ramp
Start with one bedtime shot, then add more if tolerated
Mixing
Often bought as a pre-mixed blend, for example 5 mg + 5 mg with 2.5 mL bacteriostatic water (200 mcg of each per 10 units)
  • The idea is that the GHRP (ipamorelin) makes the GHRH (CJC-1295) work reliably, so the two are dosed together.
  • Blends come in different ratios (1:1, 2:1, 12 mg:6 mg), which changes the ipamorelin dose per shot.
Sources (4)

Not testedCommon

Clinic nightly protocol (anti-aging / low IGF-1)

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
250–500 mcg (range quoted up to 1,000 mcg); 150–350 mcg in individual prescriptions
How often
Once a day at bedtime
Route
Injection under the skin
Timing
Bedtime
How long
3–6 months for short-term goals; some clinics describe open-ended use
Mixing
Compounded multi-dose vials such as 15 mg (about 50 doses of 300 mcg) or 6 mg
  • Prescribed by men’s-health and anti-aging clinics through compounding pharmacies, sometimes with testosterone therapy.
Sources (4)
Show all 4 protocolsShow fewer protocols

Not testedSometimes seen

High-dose ipamorelin

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
500–1,000 mcg per shot (one user takes 2 mg a day)
How often
Up to three times a day
Route
Injection under the skin
  • Promoted by some bodybuilders as an alternative to growth hormone; often combined with 100 mcg CJC-1295 per shot.
Sources (3)

Not testedSometimes seen

Compounded oral or nasal forms

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
Not stated in the sources found
How often
Once a day in the one reported case
Route
Oral (troches or dissolving tablets under the tongue) or nasal spray
  • Sold by some clinics; there is no evidence these forms are absorbed well.
Sources (1)

Where the numbers come from

The 100 mcg (or 1 mcg/kg) “saturation dose” and the pairing with a GHRH come from the forum writer Datbtrue, archived in the r/Peptides wiki. The 250–500 mcg bedtime dose is compounding-pharmacy and clinic practice, spread through men’s-health forums such as ExcelMale. Bodybuilders later pushed doses to 500–1,000 mcg.

Home-made sprays and serums

Home-made nasal spray. Community recipes. Not tested.

Original source recordsHide

Compounders and wellness clinics have sold ipamorelin as a nasal spray, and some users take it that way. In rats about 20% of a nasal dose was absorbed. No home recipe or pharmacy strength was found. FDA recorded one adverse-event report from a nasal spray bought from a website, which the reporter said was not packaged in a sterile manner.

Best evidence: FDA advisory-committee briefing (Oct 2024): compounders have prepared ipamorelin in nasal form. Rat study (Novo Nordisk, 1998): nasal bioavailability about 20%. Anti-doping study (2015) gave ipamorelin nasally to a volunteer. Community use reports.

Not testedNasal spraySometimes seen

Compounded, clinic or vendor nasal sprays (no formula published)

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Ipamorelinnot statedActive

Not stated: how it’s used and the amount per dose.

Sources (5)
Editorial synthesis and reported strength comparison

This synthesized method combines source records. It has not been validated for preparation, sterility, compatibility, absorption or storage. Select a reported strength to inspect the arithmetic; no strength is selected for you.

Not testedNasal spray

No amounts were found in the reviewed recipe records for this one. What was found is under “Original source records”.

Good to know

  • Bacteriostatic water contains 0.9–1.1% benzyl alcohol as a preservative. Its label covers mixing injections, not nasal use; EU labels warn of allergic reactions.
  • Some use store-bought saline nasal spray for its preservatives: often benzalkonium chloride, which can irritate the nose with long use, and sometimes benzyl alcohol.
  • Never tap water: it is not sterile, and CDC researchers warn against it for nasal rinsing.
What people report

On the skin: home-made serums. Community recipes. Not tested.

Original source recordsHide

A CJC-1295/ipamorelin cream exists as a product, meant to work through the skin. One user used it for two cycles and saw little; no strength, maker or recipe was found.

Best evidence: User reports only.

Not testedCreamFringe

CJC-1295/ipamorelin cream (maker and strength not stated)

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: not stated

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
CJC-1295 and ipamorelinnot statedActive
Cream basenot statedBase

Method

Bought ready-made; no method or strength given.

How it’s used
Rubbed on the forearms; one user did two cycles.
  • Most replies call these creams a waste compared with injections; none gives a strength.
Sources (4)
Editorial synthesis and reported strength comparison

This synthesized method combines source records. It has not been validated for preparation, sterility, compatibility, absorption or storage. Select a reported strength to inspect the arithmetic; no strength is selected for you.

Not testedOn the skin

No amounts were found in the reviewed recipe records for this one. What was found is under “Original source records”.

Good to know

  • Use distilled water, not tap: tap water carries minerals, chlorine and microbes that can spoil the serum.
What people report
Research notes

Forum “saturation dose” logic (100 mcg is enough) conflicts with bodybuilder advice that 500 mcg is the minimum. Most users take ipamorelin as part of a blend, so the ipamorelin dose per shot depends on the blend ratio.

Nasal spray

The 20% nasal absorption figure is from rats, not people.

On the skin

No strength, maker or recipe found.

What it is. In plain English.

A selective growth-hormone releaser that mimics the hunger hormone ghrelin.

A five-amino-acid peptide developed by Novo Nordisk in the 1990s, part of the growth-hormone-releasing peptide (GHRP) family. Three of its five building blocks don’t occur in nature.

It activates the ghrelin receptor and stimulated growth-hormone release in early research. Claims that it reliably avoids cortisol, prolactin or appetite effects have not been established as clinical benefits.

Reviewed 2026-10-01.

Structure. Nothing to show yet.

No experimental 3D structure of ipamorelin is in the .

Searches by name and by its code, NNC 26-0161, found nothing, and none of the 11 ghrelin receptor entries contains it. A different peptide, GHRP-6, has a structure with that receptor (7F9Z), but it isn’t ipamorelin, so it isn’t shown here.

Checked 30 Sep 2026.

Specs. The facts at a glance.

Length
5 amino acids
Sequence
Aib-H-2Nal-f-K-NH₂
Sold as
  • Ipamorelin 10 mg
In blends
Regulatory status
Not FDA-approved. In 2024 the Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Committee recommended against adding ipamorelin acetate to the 503A Bulks List; FDA also cites route-specific immunogenicity and peptide-characterization concerns. prohibits ipamorelin.
Also known as
Ghrelin-receptor agonist (GHRP)

Sources. What this page rests on.

Every source behind this page, with what it says and when it was checked, is in the Source library.

Ipamorelin in the Source library

Original overview and research notes · annotated 2026-10-01

Historical collection text. Read alongside the claim corrections above; identity or evidence qualifications may supersede this wording.

Selective growth hormone release

A selective growth-hormone releaser that mimics the hunger hormone ghrelin.

A five-amino-acid peptide developed by Novo Nordisk in the 1990s, part of the growth-hormone-releasing peptide (GHRP) family. Three of its five building blocks don’t occur in nature.

It activates the ghrelin receptor in the pituitary, triggering a pulse of growth hormone. Unlike older GHRPs, it barely raises cortisol or prolactin and causes less hunger.

Human studies confirmed dose-dependent GH release. It went into Phase 2 trials for bowel recovery after surgery, didn’t beat placebo, and development stopped. No trials for muscle, fat loss or anti-aging.

Original status record: Not approved. Research chemical. An FDA advisory panel voted against letting pharmacies compound it in 2024, and the FDA still lists it as a possible safety risk for outsourcing facilities. Banned by WADA.

More in Growth hormone.

Glossary

Ghrelin mimetic (GHRP)

A compound that activates the ghrelin (“hunger hormone”) receptor, which also triggers GH release. Ipamorelin is one.

Glossary

IGF-1

Insulin-like growth factor 1, made in the liver in response to growth hormone. It carries out many of GH’s effects.

Glossary

Phase 1 / 2 / 3

Stages of human drug testing: safety in a few people, then effectiveness in hundreds, then large confirmatory trials in thousands. Most compounds fail along the way.

Glossary

WADA

The World Anti-Doping Agency. Its S0 category bans any substance not approved for human use, which covers most of this catalog.

Glossary

Protein Data Bank (PDB)

The free worldwide archive of 3D structures of proteins and other molecules measured in experiments. Each entry has a four-character code, like 7KI0.