Peptide Field Book

Reading settings

Choose a comfortable text size and appearance. Your choices are saved on this device.

N-Acetyl Semax Amidate

Taken for focus and memory

Modified Semax

This entry is the N-acetyl amidated derivative. Parent Semax/Selank studies and approval records do not establish this derivative’s efficacy, safety or approval.

Related-compound evidence; derivative applicability unresolved
AcMEHFPGPNH₂
Schematic illustration · View structure evidenceAc-MEHFPGP-NH₂
Color key
NonpolarAromaticPositive chargeNegative chargePolar Copper ion D-form or non-natural

At a glance

Why people take it. And what backs it up.

  1. Sharpen focus and memory

    People report it, not studied

    The main use: a morning nasal spray for sharper focus, memory and mental energy; plain Semax is approved in Russia, but not this form.

    Sources (4)
  2. Lift mood and motivation

    People report it, not studied

    Users take it for low mood and flat motivation; some say it lifts a mental cloud and makes them more driven.

    Sources (2)
  3. Focus with ADHD

    People report it, not studied

    Some with ADHD use it as a stimulant-free focus aid, or alongside Adderall to soften its crash.

    Sources (2)

Evidence briefing

Sources checked

What the sources support.

Plain Semax is the heptapeptide Met-Glu-His-Phe-Pro-Gly-Pro; FDA briefing material says it is registered in Russia as 0.1% and 1% nasal drops. That status and the limited regional literature do not apply to the catalogue’s N-acetyl Semax amidate: FDA-reviewed Semax is the unmodified peptide (free base or acetate), and the capped amidate form is a different product with no approval established here. In July 2026 the advisory committee recommended plain Semax-related forms for possible 503A bulk listing, but a committee recommendation is not FDA approval or a final listing.

Keep in mind

Evidence and any Russian authorization concern the named nasal Semax product; they cannot be transferred to the N-acetyl amidate sold in vials. FDA staff’s briefing found limited route-specific safety/effectiveness evidence.

Identity and research status reviewRead the original sources

The research. What’s been studied.

Clinical benefit unverified

TapClick a dotted word to see what it means.

  • No verified benefit for this form

    The Semax amidate listed here has no verified clinical evidence. Findings reported for plain Semax should not be assigned to this modified form.

What do these labels mean?
  • Human evidence: approved-drug data or larger human studies, within the populations and uses studied.
  • Early human studies: small, preliminary or limited human studies.
  • Animal & lab studies: animal or laboratory findings that do not establish effects in people.
  • Unverified: a proposed use or claim without verified supporting clinical evidence.
How each claim was reviewed (4)

Reported effects and evidence.

A citation may support, qualify or correct a claim. Read the study scope; a laboratory result is not an established benefit in people. Each review covers a claim as it was first collected; the tiles above show the collection’s current wording.

  1. Parent Semax animal study; modified-form mismatch

    Review of “Raises BDNF”

    Plain Semax increased hippocampal BDNF in rats. This result does not validate N-acetyl amidated Semax.

    Limitations and applicability. Entry is N-acetyl amidate. Parent Semax BDNF findings cannot be assigned to that derivative.

    Original collected claim and review history

    Original title: Raises BDNF

    Increases BDNF, a protein that supports neuron growth and learning.

    Original label: animal. Preserved for traceability; the reviewed wording above qualifies this record.

    Record semax:benefit:1 · Annotated 2026-10-01 · Review method

  2. Limited human parent-compound research; identity mismatch

    Review of “Stroke recovery”

    Plain Semax was studied in Russian stroke-rehabilitation cohorts; display this as related-compound evidence, not derivative efficacy.

    Limitations and applicability. Foreign status and stroke research concern plain Semax; modified form described on this page has no matching clinical source.

    Original collected claim and review history

    Original title: Stroke recovery

    Used in Russia to support recovery after stroke.

    Original label: early. Preserved for traceability; the reviewed wording above qualifies this record.

    Record semax:benefit:2 · Annotated 2026-10-01 · Review method

  3. Unknown — no direct primary source verified. Reported parent-compound clinical claim; direct citation unresolved

    Review of “Focus and memory”

    Cognitive benefits are reported for plain Semax. Exact primary trial support and relevance to the modified form remain unresolved.

    Limitations and applicability. No specific controlled attention/memory trial was verified; modified product is not the same intervention.

    Unknown: no direct primary source verified. This does not mean that no research exists.

    Original collected claim and review history

    Original title: Focus and memory

    Russian studies report better attention and memory.

    Original label: early. Preserved for traceability; the reviewed wording above qualifies this record.

    Record semax:benefit:3 · Annotated 2026-10-01 · Review method

  4. Parent Semax rodent ischemia research

    Review of “Brain protection”

    Plain Semax altered neurotrophin-gene expression after experimental rat ischemia; retain the model and molecular-identity limitation.

    Limitations and applicability. Molecular gene-expression effects in rodent ischemia are not direct proof of protected human neurons, especially for derivative.

    Original collected claim and review history

    Original title: Brain protection

    Protected neurons in animal models of brain injury.

    Original label: animal. Preserved for traceability; the reviewed wording above qualifies this record.

    Record semax:benefit:4 · Annotated 2026-10-01 · Review method

The research in detail

Evidence category

Little or no published research

Human and animal studies concern plain Semax and are limited by study size, setting and route. The N-acetyl amidate listed here has no verified clinical evidence. In July 2026, the advisory committee recommended plain Semax forms for possible inclusion on the 503A compounding list; this nonbinding recommendation is not FDA drug approval or a final list decision.

Evidence is assessed claim by claim above. Regulatory approval, study design, findings and relevance are separate questions; there is no single evidence score.

Risks and unknowns. What to know first.

Collected cautions follow. These are not an exhaustive or independently validated safety assessment; claim references do not automatically support every caution.

  • Generally reported as well tolerated in Russian studies; nasal irritation is common.
  • Independent long-term data are lacking.

What people report

Show all 10 cautionsShow fewer cautions

Read this first: what “research use only” means

Published dosing records. What the label abroad says.

Historical label and trial records for the named product, route, population and indication. These records are not a personal schedule or a validated regimen for a catalog vial. Source attribution does not establish applicability.

Semax 0.1%

Memory and thinking problems caused by disease of the brain’s blood vessels, including after mini-strokes (Russia)

Fixed courseLabel abroad

Source: Semax 0.1% nasal drops: instruction for medical use (Russia; reg. no. ЛС-002553; copy posted by the maker, Peptogen) (opens in a new tab)

Each dose, for 10–14 days
200–2,000 mcg
How
Drops in the nose
How often
4 times a day
How long
10–14 days, repeated if needed

Limit. Up to 8,000 mcg a day (the label’s daily dose is 800–8,000 mcg, or 7–70 mcg/kg). No more than 2–3 drops in each nostril at a time; larger doses are split into rounds 10–15 minutes apart.

  • This label covers plain Semax nose drops, not the N-Acetyl Semax Amidate the vendor sells. That chemically modified form is a different molecule: this label does not cover it, and no published study of it in people was found.
  • One drop of the 0.1% solution holds 50 mcg. The label gives 2–3 drops in each nostril, 4 times a day.
  • After a head injury, brain surgery or anesthesia: 1,400–3,500 mcg (40–50 mcg/kg) 3 times a day for 3–5 days, extendable to 14 days. Not for under-18s after brain surgery.
  • Children 7 and older with minimal brain dysfunction (including ADHD): 1–2 drops in each nostril (5–6 mcg/kg) twice a day, 200–400 mcg a day, for 30 days.
  • Optic nerve disease (adults only): 2–3 drops in each nostril 2–3 times a day (600–900 mcg a day) for 7–10 days.

Semax 1%

The first (acute) period of a moderate or severe ischemic stroke, alongside other treatment (Russia; adults)

Fixed courseLabel abroad

Source: Semax 1% nasal drops: instruction for medical use (Russia; reg. no. Р N000812/01; copy posted by the maker, Peptogen) (opens in a new tab)

Days 1–10, each dose (moderate stroke)
2,000–3,000 mcg
How
Drops in the nose
How often
3–4 times a day, 3–4 hours apart (moderate stroke)
How long
10 days

Limit. Up to 12,000 mcg a day for a moderate stroke and up to 20,000 mcg a day for a severe stroke (the label’s daily doses are 6,000–12,000 mcg and 12,000–20,000 mcg).

  • This label covers plain Semax nose drops, not the N-Acetyl Semax Amidate the vendor sells. That chemically modified form is a different molecule: this label does not cover it, and no published study of it in people was found.
  • One drop of the 1% solution holds 500 mcg. For a moderate stroke, each dose is 2–3 drops in each nostril.
  • Severe stroke: 3–4 drops in each nostril (3,000–4,000 mcg) per dose, 4–5 times a day, 2.5–3 hours apart.
  • Not for people under 18.

This schedule comes from the cited national product label. Authorization and availability can change: check the current local status and exact formulation. A research vial is not the labeled product.

Community protocols. Reported online. Not clinically validated.

Community reports Collection date: 30 Sep 2026

NA-Semax Amidate users most often take about 200–600 mcg a day by nasal spray (1–3 sprays of a 100–300 mcg spray) in the morning, or inject about 300 mcg–1 mg under the skin from a research vial.

More about this

Practice varies widely (early users injected 1–2 mg twice a day), and many posts don’t say whether they mean plain Semax or the amidate form.

Not testedFrequently encountered in reviewed sources

Ready-made NA-Semax Amidate nasal spray

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
100–300 mcg per spray; usually 200–600 mcg a day, up to 900 mcg
How often
Once a day, sometimes a second dose in the early afternoon
Route
Nasal spray
Timing
Morning; users avoid late-day doses because it is stimulating
How long
Often 2–4 weeks; some use it most days for months
Cycle
Patterns seen: 10–20 days then a break; 2 weeks on; 3 weeks on and 1 week off; or weekdays only
Ramp
Jay Campbell’s version: 600 mcg a day (2 pumps of a 0.3% spray), rising to 900 mcg (3 pumps) if needed; up to 30 days at the higher dose or 60 days at 600 mcg, then an equal rest
Mixing
Ready-made bottles: 10 mg in 10 mL (100 mcg per spray) or 30 mg in 10 mL (300 mcg per spray); other brands sell 200–240 mcg per spray
  • The 100 or 300 mcg-per-spray bottle was sold by the vendor Ceretropic by 2015, and current vendors (for example Nootropic Source) still use its product wording; American Peptides sells 100 mcg per spray.
  • Jay Campbell’s 0.3% spray protocol does not say which form of Semax it means; 0.3% matches the 300 mcg-per-spray amidate bottles.
  • Several users feel little from the amidate form, or less than from plain Semax.
  • Vendors also sell a ready-made spray blending NA-Semax Amidate and NA-Selank Amidate (30 mg of each).
Sources (4)

Not testedCommon

Injection under the skin from a research vial

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
300 mcg–1 mg (about 400–600 mcg is typical for the amidate)
How often
Once a day, or every other day
Route
Injection under the skin
Timing
Morning
How long
About 4–8 weeks
Cycle
One posted plan: 1 month on, 2 weeks off, a couple of times a year; others skip weekends
Ramp
Forum advice for the amidate: start around 400 mcg and go to 600 mcg
Mixing
5 mg vial + 2 mL bacteriostatic water; 10–30 mg vials with 2–3 mL
  • Many research vials are sold simply as ‘Semax’ (usually the plain form); injected doses for plain Semax are similar (500 mcg–1 mg).
  • Some users say injection feels weaker or slower than nasal use; others prefer it because it lasts all day.
  • FDA found no studies of Semax given by injection under the skin.
Sources (4)
Show all 6 protocolsShow fewer protocols

Not testedCommon

Homemade nasal spray from a 10 mg research vial

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
About 100–300 mcg per spray, 1–2 sprays
How often
Once a day, with extra sprays on demanding days
Route
Nasal spray
Timing
Morning
Ramp
Start with one spray, then two
Mixing
10 mg vial dissolved in 1–2 mL bacteriostatic water, then 2–5 mL saline added in the spray bottle; many use saline only to avoid stinging and nosebleeds
  • Most of these users buy vials labelled ‘Semax’ (usually the plain form); the same method is used for NA-Semax Amidate vials.
  • Users say one nasal dose lasts about 6–8 hours.
Sources (3)

Not testedCommon

Plain Semax 0.1% drops (Russian pharmacy product), copying the label

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
2 drops in each nostril (50 mcg per drop, about 200 mcg per dose)
How often
1–2 times a day
Route
Nasal drops
How long
3–14 days
  • This is the plain form, not NA-Semax Amidate; sellers and users copy the Russian label, which is compiled separately.
Sources (2)

Not testedSometimes seen

Compounded clinic spray or injection (plain Semax)

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
Nasal: two sprays of a 7,500 mcg per mL spray (spray size not stated). Injection: 100 mcg a day (Tailor Made Compounding chart). Other clinics sell 1.25 mg per mL sprays and 2.5 mg per mL injections
How often
Once a day
Route
Nasal spray, or injection under the skin into the belly
Mixing
Pharmacy-made: 3 mL nasal spray at 7,500 mcg per mL, or 5 mL vial at 1,000 mcg per mL
  • These US clinic products were plain Semax, not the amidate; Tailor Made Compounding supplied clinics from 2018 to 2020.
  • At a typical 0.1 mL per spray, two sprays of the pharmacy spray would be about 1,500 mcg.
  • Clinics often pair it with Selank.
  • Ben Greenfield’s list gives 0.5–1.0 mg a day without naming the form or route.
Sources (3)

Not testedFringe

High-dose injection (early adopters, 2015)

Collected report · exact form and route are only as reported below. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01.

Frequency labels describe this collection, not a measured population. Contradictory records remain available.

Details and sourcesHide details
Dose
1–2 mg per dose
How often
Once or twice a day
Route
Injection under the skin
Timing
Morning, and early afternoon for the second dose
How long
Weeks; one user planned at least 2 months
Cycle
Weekdays on, weekends off
Ramp
1 mg in the morning, then an extra 0.5–1 mg in the afternoon, later 2 mg twice a day
Mixing
30 mg of powder
  • The 2015 posters were early buyers of Ceretropic’s N-Acetyl Semax Amidate powder; a 2024 Reddit user takes 1.5 mg twice a day of a vial sold simply as ‘Semax’ (plain form).
Sources (3)

Where the numbers come from

Semax is a Russian drug (plain heptapeptide, 0.1% and 1% nasal drops). The N-acetyl amidate form was made and sold by the nootropics vendor Ceretropic by early 2015, as nasal sprays (100 or 300 mcg per spray) and powder; its product page says ‘we’ acetylated and amidated Semax. It has never been studied in people. Doses were borrowed from the plain drug’s label and from Smarter Nootropics, an information site linked from Ceretropic’s pages (0.25–1 mg a day by nose or injection), and later vendors reused Ceretropic’s product wording. Clinic protocols for compounded plain Semax came from the Tailor Made Compounding pharmacy (2018–2020). Jay Campbell’s pages summarize both the spray and the 500 mcg–1 mg injection plans.

Home-made sprays and serums

Home-made nasal spray. Community recipes. Not tested.

Original source recordsHide

Home-made Semax nasal sprays are among the most common DIY peptide sprays. People dissolve a 5–30 mg vial in saline, bacteriostatic water or a mix of the two and put it in a bottle that sprays about 0.1 mL; reported strengths run from about 100 to 333 mcg per spray. All of this is community practice, not tested.

Best evidence: Approved product: Russian Semax 0.1% nose drops (1 mg per mL, 50 mcg per drop, methylparaben preservative) – the reference point people copy (covered elsewhere). Home-made sprays: community only (Reddit r/Nootropics since 2016, r/Peptides), plus one US compounding pharmacy strength (Tailor Made Compounding, 7,500 mcg per mL, 3 mL, 2020 listing).

Collected strength records

Not testedNasal sprayCommon

30 mg in 30 mL: 100 mcg per spray

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: 30 mL

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Semax (peptide powder)30 mgActive
Bacteriostatic water (2016 post) or saline (2025 post)30 mLLiquid

Method

  1. Inject a little of the liquid into the Semax vial and let the powder dissolve.
  2. Move the solution back into the 30 mL bottle of liquid; rinse the Semax vial twice with the mixture to get all of it.
  3. Fill a ‘calibrated’ nasal sprayer that delivers 0.1 mL per press.
  4. Keep the bottle in the fridge.
How it’s used
Not stated in the 2016 recipe. The 2025 poster started at 1 spray per nostril, then decided that was ‘pretty much microdosing’ and increased.
Per dose
100 mcg per 0.1 mL spray (stated by both posters).
Preservative
Bacteriostatic water (benzyl alcohol) in the 2016 version; none stated in the saline version.
Storage
Fridge after mixing.
  • The 2016 post scales the same method: 60 mg in 30 mL = 200 mcg per spray; 120 mg in 30 mL = 400 mcg per spray.
  • 30 mg in 30 mL is 1 mg per mL, the same strength as the Russian Semax 0.1% drops.
  • Bottles: the 2016 post links an Amazon ‘calibrated nasal sprayer’; the 2025 poster used a Snoot! bottle said to spray 0.1 mL.
  • Bottle output varies: users report about 0.1–0.13 mL, 0.133 mL and 0.15–0.20 mL per press. Their advice is to spray 10 mL of water through the empty bottle (three times) and count the presses.
  • Storage claims vary widely: a vendor (2016) said Semax spray stayed effective after a year at room temperature; another user said N-acetyl amidate powders already contain preservatives. Neither claim is backed by data.

Not stated: how long it keeps.

Sources (11)

Not testedNasal sprayCommon

30 mg in 10 mL: 300 mcg per spray

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: 10 mL

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Semax or N-acetyl Semax amidate30 mgActive
Liquid (type not stated in the blog)10 mLLiquid
How it’s used
1–2 sprays in each nostril (blog). Doses quoted in the same blog: 750–1,000 mcg once a day by nose (Dr. William Seeds, Peptide Protocols); 0.5–1 mg a day (Ben Greenfield, Boundless).
Per dose
300 mcg per spray, for sprays of about 0.1–0.13 mL (stated).
  • A 2023 r/Peptides poster planned the same ‘30mg/10mL mix’; a reply noted bottles range from 0.1 to 0.15 mL per spray.
Sources (4)

Not testedNasal sprayCommon

12 mg in 12 mL, topped up with store-bought saline spray

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: 12 mL

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Semax12 mgActive
Distilled water (to dissolve in the vial)a little (amount not stated)Liquid
Commercial saline nasal spray (with preservatives)most of the 12 mL total (‘like 11.5 of that is the saline’)Liquid / preservative

Method

  1. Dissolve the powder in the vial with a little distilled water.
  2. Add it to the spray bottle and fill to 12 mL total with commercial saline nasal spray.
Per dose
Calculated: 12 mg ÷ 12 mL = 1 mg per mL × 0.1 mL per spray = 100 mcg per spray (spray volume from the same poster).
Preservative
Relies on the preservatives in the store-bought saline spray.
Keeps for
The poster said the preservatives keep it ‘OK to use for much longer’.
  • Many store-bought 0.65% saline sprays contain benzalkonium chloride and benzyl alcohol (‘phenylcarbinol’); see the general facts.
  • Others recommend the same approach (‘Reconstitute with commercial nasal spray containing preservatives’).

Not stated: how it’s used and storage.

Sources (3)

Not testedNasal spraySometimes seen

10 mg in 10 mL bacteriostatic water: 100 mcg per 0.1 mL (planned)

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: 10 mL

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Semax10 mgActive
Bacteriostatic water10 mLLiquid / preservative
How it’s used
Planned 300 mcg a day, about 33 servings.
Per dose
100 mcg per 0.1 mL (stated plan).
Preservative
Bacteriostatic water.
  • Replies told the poster not to spray bacteriostatic water in the nose and to use saline or deionised water; another said bacteriostatic water ‘will preserve it. Mine is going on 7 weeks now’.
Sources (2)

Not testedNasal spraySometimes seen

10 mg in 4 mL (2 mL bacteriostatic water + 2 mL saline): 250 mcg per spray

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: 4 mL

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Semax10 mgActive
Bacteriostatic water2 mLLiquid / preservative
Saline2 mLLiquid

Method

  1. Add 2 mL bacteriostatic water to the Semax vial and draw it into a syringe.
  2. Put 2 mL saline in a sterile spray bottle and add the dissolved Semax.
Per dose
250 mcg per spray (stated; bottle sprays 0.1 mL).
Preservative
Bacteriostatic water (about half the liquid).
  • The poster used bacteriostatic water because a 10 mg vial lasts longer than they were comfortable with using saline alone.

Not stated: how it’s used.

Sources (3)

Not testedNasal spraySometimes seen

10 mg in a 5 mL saline ampule

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: 5 mL

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Semax5 or 10 mgActive
Sterile saline ampule (1 mL to dissolve, the other 4 mL into the bottle)5 mLLiquid

Method

  1. Open the ampule and draw 1 mL into a syringe; use it to dissolve the peptide in its vial.
  2. Pour the other 4 mL of the ampule into the spray bottle.
  3. Draw the dissolved peptide back out of the vial and add it to the spray bottle.
  4. Work out how much each spray holds and do the maths for the daily dose.
How it’s used
About 750–1,000 mcg a day; the poster uses it 3–4 times a week.
Per dose
Just under 4 sprays = about 1,000 mcg with the poster’s bottle (stated; spray volume not given).
Preservative
None (plain saline).
  • Poster reported no sting.
Sources (4)

Not testedNasal spraySometimes seen

10 mg in 3 mL with preserved store-bought saline spray: 333 mcg per spray

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: 3 mL

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Semax10 mgActive
Sterile water (to dissolve)1 mLLiquid
Amazon Basic Care saline nasal spray2 mLLiquid / preservative

Method

  1. Dissolve the peptide in 1 mL sterile water.
  2. Draw it out and put it in a new 10 mL Snoot bottle.
  3. Pour in store-bought saline nasal spray to the strength you want.
Per dose
333 mcg per spray if the bottle sprays 0.1 mL (stated).
Preservative
From the store-bought saline spray.
Keeps for
Poster said they always used it up before they ‘would begin to worry about it’.
  • The same poster described a general method ‘with any pep’: dissolve with 1 mL sterile water, then mix with 9 mL saline, which they said gives 0.5 mg per mL and 50 mcg per 0.1 mL spray; they added that you ‘can put it through a 4mm filter’ when transferring.

Not stated: how it’s used.

Sources (5)

Not testedOtherSometimes seen

Compounding pharmacy Semax nasal (Tailor Made Compounding, US)

Original source-specific report. Collection checked 30 Sep 2026; presentation annotated 2026-10-01. Source date and reporter identity are not separately verified. Exact form and route are limited to the source’s description.

Batch: 3 mL

Ingredients and methodHide the recipe

Ingredients

IngredientAmountRole
Semax7,500 mcg per mLActive
Per dose
Not stated (spray or drop volume not given).
  • Listed as ‘Nasal’ in the pharmacy’s January 2020 product table (doctor price $40); the table does not say whether it is a spray or drops.
  • Tailor Made also listed Semax for injection at 1,000 mcg per mL.
  • In 2025 a user said their compounding pharmacy shipped them nasal spray peptides including Semax (strength not given).

Not stated: how it’s used.

Sources (2)
Editorial synthesis and reported strength comparison

This synthesized method combines source records. It has not been validated for preparation, sterility, compatibility, absorption or storage. Select a reported strength to inspect the arithmetic; no strength is selected for you.

Strength per spray

Strengths people report

  • 100 mcg per spray: 30 mg N-Acetyl Semax Amidate in 30 mL bacteriostatic water or saline (posters differ) (30 mL · about 295 sprays)
  • 200 mcg per spray: 10 mg N-Acetyl Semax Amidate in 5 mL sterile saline (5 mL · about 45 sprays (with a 0.1 mL pump))
  • 250 mcg per spray: 10 mg N-Acetyl Semax Amidate in 2 mL bacteriostatic water + 2 mL saline (4 mL · about 35 sprays)
  • 333 mcg per spray: 10 mg N-Acetyl Semax Amidate in 1 mL sterile water + 2 mL store-bought saline nasal spray (3 mL · about 25 sprays)
What people report
See all 6Show fewer
Research notes

Form confusion is the main problem: most published protocols, clinic products and the FDA review concern plain Semax, and many forum users with ‘Semax’ research vials don’t say which form they have. Nothing specific to NA-Semax Amidate has ever been studied. Amounts per spray differ between products (100, 200, 240, 300 mcg; the clinic spray’s 7,500 mcg per mL has no stated spray size), so ‘sprays’ are not comparable. Users disagree on whether the amidate is stronger or weaker than plain Semax and whether nasal or injection works better. The FDA eye-pain report and the advisory vote both concern plain Semax.

Nasal spray

Bottle output varies (0.1–0.15 mL, and one bottle 0.15–0.20 mL), so ‘mcg per spray’ is only right for the poster’s own bottle; users advise spraying 10 mL of water through and counting. Storage advice ranges from ‘reconstitute one week at a time’ to a vendor’s claim (u/MisterYouAreSoDumb, 2016) that Semax spray kept 1 year at about 22 °C (72 °F) and 2 years in the fridge – unverified. Users disagree whether store-bought ‘Amazon’ saline spray contains benzyl alcohol; the DailyMed label for the same type of 0.65% saline spray lists both benzalkonium chloride and phenylcarbinol (benzyl alcohol). One user claimed N-acetyl amidate forms already contain preservatives; no source supports this.

What it is. In plain English.

The listed N-acetyl Semax amidate is a modified seller product; evidence and Russian product status for plain Semax do not establish its identity, effects or approval.

This entry names N-acetyl Semax amidate, a capped modified form. Plain Semax is a different heptapeptide product registered as nasal drops in Russia. Research or product status for plain Semax cannot be transferred to this amidate form.

Plain Semax has been studied for neurological effects, and proposed mechanisms include BDNF-related and neurotransmitter signaling. This entry is the N-acetyl amidate form; findings about plain Semax do not establish that this modified form has the same effects.

Reviewed 2026-10-01.

Structure. Nothing to show yet.

No experimental 3D structure of Semax or N-acetyl Semax amidate is in the .

Its first four amino acids, MEHF, occur inside the hormones ACTH and α-MSH bound to their receptors, but those pictures show the hormones, not Semax.

Checked 30 Sep 2026.

Specs. The facts at a glance.

Length
7 amino acids
Sequence
Ac-MEHFPGP-NH₂
Sold as
  • N-Acetyl Semax Amidate 10 mg
In blends
Regulatory status
Plain Semax is registered in Russia as nasal drops. The listed N-acetyl amidate is a distinct form with no approval established. A July 2026 PCAC recommendation concerned plain Semax free base/acetate for possible 503A list inclusion; it is not FDA drug approval or a final listing decision.
Also known as
Modified Semax

Sources. What this page rests on.

Every source behind this page, with what it says and when it was checked, is in the Source library.

N-Acetyl Semax Amidate in the Source library

Original overview and research notes · annotated 2026-10-01

Historical collection text. Read alongside the claim corrections above; identity or evidence qualifications may supersede this wording.

Focus, memory and brain protection

A modified version of Semax, a nasal nootropic used as medicine in Russia.

Semax is a synthetic seven-amino-acid chain: a fragment of the hormone ACTH (4–7) with Pro-Gly-Pro added to slow breakdown. The N-acetyl amidate form caps both ends, which sellers say makes it last longer. That modified form hasn’t been studied clinically.

It raises BDNF, a protein that supports neuron growth and learning, and affects dopamine and serotonin systems. Despite its ACTH origin, it doesn’t act as a stress hormone.

Russian clinical studies report benefits for stroke recovery and cognitive function. They’re mostly small and not published in major Western journals. Animal studies support neuroprotective effects.

Original status record: Approved in Russia as nasal drops for stroke and cognitive disorders, but not in the US or EU; the N-acetyl amidate form isn’t approved anywhere. In July 2026 FDA advisers voted to recommend allowing compounding of plain Semax; the FDA has not decided.

More in Brain, mood & sleep.

Glossary

Acetylation / amidation

Chemical caps (Ac, NH₂) added to a peptide’s ends to slow its breakdown. “N-acetyl ... amidate” means both ends are capped.

Glossary

Protein Data Bank (PDB)

The free worldwide archive of 3D structures of proteins and other molecules measured in experiments. Each entry has a four-character code, like 7KI0.